India cancels all UK flights till December 31

The Government of India announced that they had canceled all the flights to and from the UK from December 23 to December 31. This decision was taken under the circumstances that sources reported a new, mutated version of Coronavirus within the UK. Report claims that the new strain of the virus is 70 percent more transmissible than the original version.

Tweet from Ministry of Civil Aviation

 Ministry of Civil Aviation tweeted that the Government has decided to temporarily suspend all flights from the UK to India until December 31 (23.59 hours). The suspension came into effect from 23:59 on December 22. 

“Those found positive on arrival should be sent for institutional quarantine set up by state/UT govts, in collaboration with the states/UTs concerned. Those found negative should be advised to isolate at home for 7 days & will be medically monitored by the States/UTs,” said aviation minister H S Puri said. 

Check out the tweet below:


For further precautionary measures, the Government also decided to put all the passengers arriving from the UK to India in all transit flights (who reach before 23:59 hours on December 22) under a compulsory RT-CPR test. 

Which airlines are operating for travel to and from the UK?

India has an air bubble agreement with the UK that enables flights to be operated by airlines of both sides to fly people eligible to do so as per current government norms. At present, four airlines operate 67 weekly flights between various Indian cities and London- British Airways (29), Air India (23), Virgin Atlantic (8), and Vistara (7).

Since all airlines have flexible booking policies during Covid, affected passengers will be 

India is not the only country that banned travel to and from the UK. Ireland, Netherlands, France, Germany, Italy, Belgium, Finland, Switzerland, Bulgaria, Romania, Iran, Croatia, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Canada, Turkey, and more.